Facebook just recently introduced “Timeline App”. So what’s in it for you?
Let’s get into the definition for us to get a better understanding of this app.
What is timeline?
Add to Timeline lets users create a lasting connection between your app and their Timeline on Facebook. When a user clicks Add to Timeline, your app can publish app specific actions to the user’s Timeline. As users engage with your app over time, their actions become more prominently displayed on their Timeline. This can become an important part of how people express themselves on Facebook. The experience for users is seamless and fun and requires little effort for them to personalize their identity. Your timeline is your collection of the photos, stories, and experiences that tell your story. Hide or highlight whatever you want and add anything that’s missing. Only the people you originally shared a post with can see it on your timeline. If you want, you can go back and change who sees a post, delete it or just hide it from your timeline.
Here are some things you can do on your timeline:
To get timeline, simply go to the Introducing Timeline page and click Get It Now. Or you can wait until you see an announcement at the top of your profile.
What happens when I upgrade to timeline?
Once you upgrade, you’ll have 7 days to preview your timeline before other people can see it. You can use this time to add a cover, fill in life events, and star important stories. After 7 days, your timeline will be published automatically. Or, you can choose to publish your timeline at any time by clicking the Publish Now button at the top of your timeline.
Note: Until your timeline goes live, people will see your old profile. Similarly, you won’t be able to see your friend’s timelines until they upgrade and publish.
For more details, visit the app site at Introducing Timeline.